Drunk on the Gunks: Part I

Wine tours have always been something I have wanted to do, but never had the opportunity to because there a lot of details that have to be planned and a lot of cash. Lucky for me, my best friend, Becky, invited me to join her, and her family for a mini wine tour of two wineries in the Hudson Valley. But I had such a great experience at both, I want to give you the full story of each by breaking them up into their own articles.

FB_IMG_1490561646545

Whitecliff Vineyard, located in the town of Gardiner, part of the mid-Hudson Valley region, and is part of the Shawangunk Wine Trail. They have a big variety of wines,  many made with grapes grown in the Valley. The winery was founded by a couple who met while rock climbing in the region, and if that isn’t the most adorable love story I don’t know what is! You can sip on your wine while you eat local cheeses and other small snacks available for sale on their spacious outdoor deck, or opt for the inside bar. Or, you can bring your pup and eat some snacks you brought yourself!

IMG_20170326_115951_766The 6 tasting wine flight included a free souvenir wine glass and consisted of a mix of white and red wines, but the woman working the bar was great and let us samples of plenty more! Our designated driver didn’t get to partake in the wine tasting (obviously) but because they were the sober one in the situation, they got a free bag of chips; something for everyone! I tried everything from they let me, and I loved pretty much each one. Each wine had a different story, and it was awesome to hear what inspired each name, what awards they’ve won, or simply the best foods to eat with each wine. Hearing the details from a true wine expert makes tasting the wines all the better. Their Chardonnay stuck out to me because it didn’t have that buttery taste, which turns me off from most Chardonnays. Their award winning Traminette and Awosting White were also favorites of mine. They weren’t too sweet and they weren’t too dry; perfect table white wines.

Despite being a white wine person, my absolute favorite from the trip to Whitecliff was their Red Trail red wine. It was slightly chilled when poured, and typically, temperature is my issue with red wines; I don’t like that they are meant to be served warm. It also had a flavor different than any red I have ever drank, it was almost refreshing. It almost had the taste of a white, but the smoothness of a red (if that makes any sense whatsoever, I’m no wine connoisseur). Regardless of my description, this red wine was delicious, and I recommend it to anyone who thinks they don’t like reds, because it changed my opinion too. I loved it so much, I bought a bottle!

Whitecliff Vineyard was a great experience, I loved the staff and loved the wines even more. I definitely will be back during the summer, and hopefully will see some dogs there too!

 

 

Always remember to drink responsibly. 

One thought on “Drunk on the Gunks: Part I

Leave a comment